Italian football in 1990: When Serie A clubs dominated Europe thanks to Milan, Sampdoria and Juventus

Italian football in 1990: When Serie A clubs dominated Europe thanks to Milan, Sampdoria and Juventus

Italian football in 1990: When Serie A clubs dominated Europe thanks to Milan, Sampdoria and Juventus

Milan, Juventus and Sampdoria ensured it was a European clean sweep for Italian clubs

Roma are appearing in their first European semi-final for 27 years when they face Liverpool at Anfield in the Champions League.

Back then they beat Brondby to set up an all-Italian UEFA Cup final against Inter in 1991, which they lost.

This was a golden period for Italian clubs, who enjoyed a period of dominance on the Continent in the late eighties and throughout the nineties.


While we had Tony Blair playing head tennis with Kevin Keegan, Serie A had Robert Baggio, Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane doing a little more than that.

Italian clubs won 13 of the 30 European titles available and had 25 finalists during the 90s. They were the undisputed kings.

In recent years, Juventus have tried to restore some of that glory, having reached two of the last three Champions League finals.

But 1990 was a particularly good year for Italian football, with Milan, Sampdoria and Juventus winning the three European trophies on offer, as explains.

European Cup final: 23 May, 1990
Milan beat Benfica 1-0 thanks to a Frank Rijkaard goal to claim back-to-back successes after their 4-0 thrashing of Steaua Bucharest in 1989.

They won it again in 1994, but lost to Ajax in the final the following year.

UEFA Cup final: 2 May, 1990
Roberto Galia, Pierluigi Casiraghi and Luigi de Agostini helped Juventus beat Serie A rivals Fiorentina 3-1 in a two-legged final and add to their fans' hatred of Juve.

Napoli won the 1989 edition, while six other Italian clubs had won the UEFA Cup by 2000 where there were three other all-Italy finals.

European Cup Winners Cup final: 9 May, 1990
Sampdoria beat Anderlecht 2-0 thanks to extra-time goals from Gianluca Vialli. A year earlier, they were beaten by Barcelona in the same final to deny Italy a clean sweep in Europe.

The Cup Winners Cup was stopped in 1999, with Serie A side Lazio winning the last ever final, while Parma contested successive finals in 1993 and 1994, losing to Arsenal in the latter.

Teams involved included the previous season’s domestic cup winners. If they had also won the league, however, then that side would compete in the European Cup and the runners-up of the FA Cup, Coppa Italia etc, would take their place.

Fiorentina won the inaugural tournament when they beat Rangers in a two-legged final in 1961 and the following year on 10 May, the Italians reached the final again where a 1-1 draw with Atletico Madrid forced a replay.

Incredibly, fans had to wait FOUR months for that replay to happen due to the 1962 World Cup in Chile, which began at the end of May and a number of players being summoned for international duty.

The game finally took place on 5 September in Stuttgart and Atletico won 3-0. There was a certain amount of prestige that went with the competition at one point and clubs have had some of their greatest nights as a result – just ask Aberdeen supporters who remember the 1983 triumph against Real Madrid.

Original Article


I play soccer since I am a little child. My passion was and will always be soccer that's why I created the website GlobalSoccer to spread my passion out to others...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: